BAD RUN

Posted: June 18, 2015 in poker
Tags:

So, at the WSOP 2015 Colossus event at the Rio in Vegas, only 6.3% of the 22,374 (14,000 unique entries – not counting the rebuys) were women.  I wonder how many women did the rebuy?   I am not headed to Vegas until July.  One of the regulars in our poker group made it to Day 2 of the Colossus.  She is a great player!

I’m not sure how this relates to the writing prompt “Off Season” or “Choose Your Adventure” at all, but maybe for women poker players it always seems like the off-season.  Or maybe it’s because I’m having a bad run of cards.   AJ beaten by AK,  QQ beaten a flush….    It’s made me sensitive to phrases like “throws like a girl” and “that took balls.”

Honestly, I can’t be too upset, I beat men all the time.  Every time I make final table I’m beating a lot of guys to get there.  And any stereotypes about women poker players that go with it.  Most poker players seem more open-minded than to even notice gender, but I don’t know if that’s true of all of them.  Sometimes I get the feeling that some men just don’t like being beaten at cards by anyone, let alone a girl.

I know I’ve been called all kinds of horrible names on online poker, but I can ignore that, as it’s not the real world. They wouldn’t say those things to my face.

I guess they’re going to put a woman on the $10 bill. Maybe they should put a woman on the $100 to make up for lost time.

One of my co-workers gave me the the poster “the many emotions of Mister Spock.”

So, I’ve created “the many emotions of Phil Laak.” Hope you like it.

posterLAAK2

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Off-Season.” In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Choose Your Adventure.”

Leave a Reply

